Thread: G'day/HIHI

1. #1 G'day/HIHI 
    Hello everyone, my gamer names Besrah,

I just moved to Japan, which is a wonderful and interesting place, but figured i probably couldnt survive without some sort of electronic entertaining so i recently bought a PSP. I figured it would be cheaper than buying a laptop or desktop PC.. yay for money saver.

Unfortunately my PSP is one of the most upto date and has Firmware 3.11 and is a TA-082 Motherboard.. /sadpanda. What makes it even slightly funnier is that half the games ive bought 50% are in english 50% Japanese (which im not 100% fluent at yet hehe), guess its a good excuse to learn.

I'll admit im a Noob when it comes to PSPs, computers are generally my thing. Now im very interested in hacking my PSP, however naturally i dont want to brick the thing so ive been reading up on the forums. My main aim is to just play movies and or afew PS1 games (makes you wonder why i didnt buy a playstation then.. but i never said i was overly intelligent).

Noob question time:

A) From what ive been reading you cant downgrade from Firmware 3.11 just yet and that the TA-082 motherboard makes it slightly more difficult to do successfully. (am i right so far?)

B) Now ive heard some people say (maybe not in these forums) but PSPs can play games from any country/region... (or is that only after they have been Hacked, and does the same thing applies for UMD movies)????

Any tips/advice would be great. Now im sure someone has posted something on this afew thousand times. Ive just read so much on it atm that im slightly brain dead atm.

but anyway hi, and thx for any future advice
    -Besrah

Senior Member PSP Elite Hacker
    welcome, and yes in both questions you are correct sir, 3.03 or lower can be dongraded... ta 802 mobos are ok now, just sometimes they are a pain because they have some different things about them, like if you turn your psp off at 10 % it stays offf and such..