Thread: Greetings, PSPMOD! Need help on getting started.

1. #1 Greetings, PSPMOD! Need help on getting started. 
    Junior Member PSP User
    First off, let me admit that I am extremely new to PSP-hacking and emulation, so I'm aware that I may seem like a complete noob. However, I've gained interest in this subject lately, yet I don't even know where to begin.

I am planning on buying a PSP in a few weeks (from Hong Kong), and there are a few things I would like to know before doing so:

1. Most importantly - I've heard it is possible to play PSOne games on a PSP using hacking and emulation. I know this may sound odd, but this is my main reason of interest in the PSP - there are so many PSOne games I'm dying to play again, yet for some reason my PS2 is unable to read any of them, neither burned nor even original NTSC and PAL types. I have the files for some of the games on my computer and I would just like to know what needs to be bought and prepared in order for this to work.

2. I'd like to know how burning games for the PSP works. Does the PSP only use UMDs? If so, how is it possible to burn games and movies to the PSP?

3. On that note, what needs to be done in order to burn PSP games as backup? Is image burning for the PSP the same as it is for the PS2?

Being completely new to this - and I know this may be a shock - I don't know what basic things, like 'firmware', 'downgrading' or 'homebrew', even mean. I've tried to look up some tutorials, but I could find none that could explain these terms coherently to a newbie. If I could be directed to a few basic tutorials, I'd be very appreciative.

This is all for now. I do hope this post doesn't irritate anyone (and, to be honest, after reading julie's "How NOT To Look Like A Noob" topic, it seems you guys are easily irritable :P), and I hope I'll be able to get some new information.

Thanks!

Senior Member PSP Elite Hacker lommer's Avatar
    welcome. a good start to begin to read my psp basics Q&A thread .