Thread: Hello!

1. #1 Hello! 
    Hello everyone. I am brand new to the PSP scene, having shied away from it for a couple years now. My friend bought one, and after tinkering with it a little bit, I decided I really wanted one. A few days later, the same friend decided he didn't have the time to play it, and he sold it to me (along with a free Patapon, one of the few games I want for the system).

The biggest reason why I want a PSP is so I can get some homebrew on it, however having done a little bit of research, I have absolutely no idea what to do. I have once had a GP2X and have done homebrew/emulation with that, but this seems to be much different.

What am I supposed to do if I want custom firmware, and will custom firmware allow me to do everything the PSP un-firmware'd could do, such as play all games, use the browser, download demos, etc? Which is the best custom firmware, if there is more than one?

My PSP is a brand new PSP Slim from the Daxter bundle, and the current firmware is 3.80.

Thanks in advance!

Senior Member PSP Elite Hacker DarkFoxSniper's Avatar
    Well first of all I'd like to welcome you to the site.Second..for a Slim PSP model you will need something we like to call Pandora's Battery.I would suggest you go read up on it and learn about it before you attempt anything.This site has some very good guides.Also just a little side note...Pandora is the only way for a Slim.

Quote Originally Posted by iedwardsIII
    In the words of DFS, go die.

PSP Motherboard F.A.Q. Coldboot Tutorial

Senior Member PSP Elite Hacker valledor03's Avatar
    welcome to pspmod.
    PSP 1000 => 6.39 ME 9.1
    PSP 2000 => 6.39 ME 9.1
    PSP 3000 => 5.50 GEN-C

27/06/2008 12:58 PM DarkFoxSniper
    PS3 is Sony's baby..what do you expect...PSP is like..their bastard child
    15/03/2008 12:18 PM valledor03
    i thought electro, helped you?
    15/03/2008 12:19 PM jonesy1181
    he told me to suck his balls
    thanks to:
    dark alex
    darkfoxsniper