Thread: New to console modding, but not to hardware modding in general

Hi guys, I'm an electrical engineering student (I know, I probably got dropped on my head a couple of times when I was younger) and I'm new to the console modding community. I've been a member of the PC building/modding community for 5+ years now, so I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty (and if I happen to void a few warranties in the process, well, that only means that I'm doing my job right ).

I just bought a clunker PSP 1001 off of Ebay (broken screen - looking for the best price on one of those right now), and I'm looking forward to hacking that thing to little pieces.
    Last edited by vulrath; 08-12-2009 at 05:25 AM.

Senior Member PSP Elite Hacker DarkFoxSniper's Avatar
    Welcome PSPMOD.

Quote Originally Posted by iedwardsIII
    In the words of DFS, go die.

PSP Motherboard F.A.Q. Coldboot Tutorial

Is that a whale?! PSP Elite Hacker fuckingclassy's Avatar
    Use this guide to get Custom Firmware installed: http://www.pspmod.com/forums/psp-har...ery-guide.html

After that, feel free to play emulated games, backed-up ISOs, or just fuck softmods, and go straight to LED hardmods.
    Nintendo Emulators || LED Modifications
    Disclaimer:
    Everything that this user says is fictional and for entertainment purposes only

Thanks for the warm welcome; I think I've come to the right place for my modding needs.

I figured I'd start off with an LED mod that's been brewing in my head for a few months now. I'm currently trying to track down some stranded sideglow fiber optic cable, and as soon as I can get some cheap, I planned on running some around a clear faceplate so that when the LED(s) come on the entire faceplate lights up instead of the immediate area around the diode. I have to open the case anyway to replace the screen; I might as well kill two birds with one stone and do it all at once.