Thread: Hi all, looks like I have a lot to learn.

1. #1 Hi all, looks like I have a lot to learn. 
    Hi everyone. I am new to the world of PSP. I just bought a used PSP to keep me occupied while I spend time recovering in bed. I was going to go and buy a bunch of used games when I came across this site.
    So I started reading some of the posts and the " How do I" links, but the more I read, the less clear things have become. I don't want to jump in and accidentilly "brick" my PSP, cause I don't know anyone with a Pandora battey or another PSP to help me out.
    Is there a clear "Modding for Dummies" post that can walk me through what needs to be downloaded, installed and in what order? Maybe a coloring book with some crayons to help keep me occupied!!
    I bought a God of War PSP 2001, and it looks to be operating on firmware version 5.03. I am running Windows Vista on my laptop.( from what I have read I am not sure if that makes a differance.)

First off:
    Do I need a Pandora battery?
    Do I need a MMS?

I am sure there is clear information out there, but at some point one needs to stop and ask for directions. Thanks in advance.

The King Of Chinatown PSP Elite Hacker Geek's Avatar
    http://www.pspmod.com/forums/psp-fir...sp-any-fw.html that will get you to cfw, you won't need a pandora or mms

I'm not a pirate. I am a 21st century Che liberating files from the capitalist overlords.
    How to check if you can mod your PSP

Thanks MZ for a sleek sig!

Thanks for the link Geek9.
    The video is a little hard to follow, but we got chickHEN R2 installed now.
    Does it matter which CFW we install? Can we go right to 5.50? Or what is the best CFW to install?
    Last edited by Orakil; 10-23-2009 at 12:38 AM.

Member PSP User
    You'll need to install 5.00 M33-6 first which you can do via Hellcats, which is supplied in that Tut. Then IF you want you can google Xgen for a installer to take you to 5.50 Gen-B2 and then install to 5.50 Gen-D.