Thread: How to run linux on Mac

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 How to run linux on Mac 
    Senior Member PSP Elite Hacker urineanus's Avatar
    First off I admit I am a total Linux NOOB, however I know how to get it up and running on a PPC Mac.

I run Ubuntu on My Mac as a third OS. I really like it, even though I might not know how to fully use it.

Get the disc image here

Before we even get started, be prepared to use the control key for shortcuts, once you get it installed kiss the command key goodbye. It's annoying at first, but you will soon over come the obstacle.

Once you have the image, fire up Toast and burn it. Once you have burned the Disc, shut down your Mac.

I would recommend to make it easier on you, to install Ubuntu to a second Drive, to save yourself the partition management of one drive; However you can do it on one drive.

Restart your Mac and hold down the "c" key, to boot from disc. You will get a command line menu, ignore what it says and press return. You will now see the process of booting the live CD, wait and eventually you will see a graphical screen booting ubuntu.

Once you load up the live CD, double click the install icon on the desktop. Follow the instructions and make your partition accordingly, or better yet direct it to a separate drive to install to.

While it is installing you can browse the net with firefox, and even chat it up on Gaim. Linux is pretty badass like that.

When it's finished restart your Mac. Now when you boot you will get a boot menu before the Mac starts its OF to boot OS X. You can now select between linux and Mac.

You can mount HFS drives in linux so that you can access music and other data, I just can't figure it out yet. The downfall to linux is the constant need to know complex commands. Although once I figure it out, it won't seem like it was all that complex. I honestly do not spend enough time in linux to figure it out, I'm just a NOOB as of now.