Thread: Best Free Protection?

1. #1 Best Free Protection? 
    Senior Member I Modded My PSP Lone_Nite's Avatar
    just wondering if anyone has some suggestions for free antivirus, firewall, and antispyware programs. right now i have avg antivirus installed for virus probs, ad-aware 2007 for spyware, and i cant find a decent free firewall so i'm using the shitty windows firewall. also could sumone explain to me what the hell malware is? and do i really need an antimalware program? if so are there any good free ones out there? sadly my comp is running vista so i hope that theres some free programs compatible with vista, its actually a gateway laptop that i got for my graduation present that already had vista installed on it (wish i could get rid of vista). thanks in advance.

Retired Moderator PSP Elite Hacker Julie's Avatar
    zone alarm is free. ive been using it for 4 yrs and still swear by it
    R.I.P Zoidberg

Senior Member PSP Elite Hacker DarkED's Avatar
    Antivirus: AVG Free Edition, it's hands-down the best free AV solution available.

Firewall: ZoneAlarm Free Edition (If you have a router with a built-in hardware firewall, you don't need an extra software firewall. Router firewalls are more than enough to keep you safe.)

Spyware: Spybot Search & Destroy / Ad-Aware SE Personal. Use both, one after the other.

Retired Moderator PSP Elite Hacker Julie's Avatar
    i love AVG. my friend reccomended it to me years ago and i never looked back. uninstalled norton AV and its been good since then
    R.I.P Zoidberg

Member PSP User
    I use AVG Free Edition, too. Its a very nice free alternative.
    I also have Spybot/Ad-Adaware. lol

And right now I am downloading ZoneAlarm Free Edition

Senior Member PSP Elite Hacker adam's Avatar
    abbstinence...100% effective too
    YOU THINK BEGINNER SHOULD BE MOD!?http://www.pspmod.com/forums/firmwar...some-help.html Think AGAIN!
    READ THIS THREAD!

Follow this thread to earn some free stuff w/o a credit card!