Thread: Zune 30 Midnight Meltdown.

1. #1 Zune 30 Midnight Meltdown. 
    ♥ man ass PSP Elite Hacker carp's Avatar
    Well I went to go turn on my Zune 30gb to listen to Swing My Door by Gucci Mane, and it just froze when the loading bar was done loading. I left it on for about 3 hours and then it finally died. So I started playing MHP2G with my brother and then I went to check my email account, and look what i found here. Just about everyone on the whole freakin planets Zune 30gbs are doing the same thing. Pretty fucking gay, especially since there was no update or anything involved. Heres the Yahoo article.

'Zune 30 Midnight Meltdown' Angers Music Lovers (NewsFactor) by NewsFactor: Yahoo! Tech

While the rumor mill is focused on Apple developing a larger-screen iPod touch, the blogosphere is churning with angry reports about frozen 30GB Microsoft Zunes.

Discussions board like ZuneUser.com, ZuneScene.com and Zune.net offer first-hand accounts of the problems with Microsoft's music player. It seems the Zunes reboot, then freeze once the status bar reaches 100 percent.

Some are calling it the "Z2K" problem, playing off the infamous Y2K bug that many thought would throw the computing industry in chaos at the beginning of the century when dates changed from 1999 to 2000. That's because the problem seems to have started at exactly midnight PST Wednesday -- the first moments of the last day of 2008.

A Fix That Fails

Microsoft wasn't immediately available for comment on what observers are calling the Zune 30 Midnight Meltdown. But the forums are ablaze with complaints and demands for updates from Microsoft.

"I had my Zune docked on its iHome ZN9, charging, and all the sudden I hear it start whirring as I'm sitting here at the laptop. I looked up just in time to see it restarting itself at exactly 12:00 midnight, watched the loading bar, and then the freeze. Great. WHAT is going on!?" VS Venom Shot wrote on the Zune.net forum.