Thread: Nintendo DS lite hacking

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. #1 Nintendo DS lite hacking 
    Junior Member PSP User
    Hey guys,

I'm new to the DS so forgive me..........

I'm thinking of getting a DS lite and I want to know how to hack it. I was hoping to use the "plug-n-play" method I have read about. I wanted to ask on this board tho because a) it rocks b) I trust this site more that many other out there.

so, what do I need to hack a DS lite? Does it matter what firmware the DS lite has?

Thanks

Senior Member I Modded My PSP Phoenix Knight's Avatar
    urm, this is a PSP site??!!
    "Pandora Battery, MMS, A jedi needs not these things"

Senior Member I Modded My PSP PigVenus's Avatar
    Well... this is the off topic forum.

It couldn't be easier. All you need it a flashcard. I prefer the M3 DS Real Perfect or the Cyclo DS Evolution myself. They are the some of the more expensive cards out there, but also some of the best.

There are many different M3 DS Real bundles, but the "perfect" bundle includes the GBA cart that allows you to play all the Gameboy Advance (GBA) games. (Note that there is another package, "Rumble" in which it does not have GBA ability, but only a rumble cart.) If you don't do GBA games, then you can skip the more expensive bundle.

For the Cyclo DS Evolution you need to get the "3-in-1 expansion" which is sold separately, but it has the advantage of being able to do rumble AND GBA in a single cart. Also, I would say the Cyclo is probably the best supported with firmware updates.

All that being said, it seems like the Edge and Acekards are pretty well supported also and a bit cheaper to boot.

The best place to order from is: Modchip Central - Official Distributor of Wiikey, D2Pro, D2Pro9, Wii-clip, R4DS, M3 Real, R4 DS, D2Pro 9, Wiikey2, Wiikey 2, Memor32, DSTT, Acekard, Acekard2, Acekard2 and more!

Best places to get the homebrew are:
    GBAtemp.net -> Portal