Thread: More wifi

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1 More wifi 
    Senior Member PSP Mad Hacker -GunslingerGirl-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    719
    Here is the problem:

    My bedroom was built in a garage.
    There is a water heater, a water pressure thing, and a stone fireplace between my room and the computer room. Oh yea, and a furnace-like thing.

    I get like no signal. Is there a device or something to fix this?
    Well the way I see it, I'm the judge and my bullets are the jury.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member PSP Elite Hacker goku2778's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    6,035
    what type of router you using, a basic low signal ouput router?? maybe update your router with a better, stronger router with more ouput coverage...that's pretty much all i could think of, not sure if they make any type of device to actually boost the signal, just depends on the routers themselves...
    [CENTER]
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Banned I Modded My PSP
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    146
    get a better router / change my sig
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    L
    PSP Elite Hacker El Guapo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,830
    There is a thing called a range expander. You place this object somewhere near the outer range of your router and it boost your signal farther.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member PSP Mad Hacker -GunslingerGirl-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    719
    I googled it and I found devices that amplify the signal, but there is a lot of shit between my PS3 and my router.
    Well the way I see it, I'm the judge and my bullets are the jury.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member PSP Elite Hacker Product F(RED)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,874
    Quote Originally Posted by El Guapo View Post
    There is a thing called a range expander. You place this object somewhere near the outer range of your router and it boost your signal farther.
    Pointless, just buy a better router.

    AMD Phenom II X4 945 3.0GHz | 4GB A-Data DDR2 RAM | Sparkle Nvidia GeForce 9400GT 512MB
    Intel Core i5 M430 2.27GHz | 4GB DDR3 RAM | Intel GMA HD
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member PSP Mad Hacker -GunslingerGirl-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    719
    Quote Originally Posted by Product F(RED) View Post
    Pointless, just buy a better router.
    Shut the fuck up, that is exactly what I am looking for. There is too much crap blocking the signal, if I strategically place something like said-item, it would give me exactly what I need.

    Edit:

    Thanks El Guapo.
    Last edited by -GunslingerGirl-; 12-26-2009 at 01:52 AM.
    Well the way I see it, I'm the judge and my bullets are the jury.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member PSP Elite Hacker Product F(RED)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,874
    Quote Originally Posted by -GunslingerGirl- View Post
    Shut the fuck up, that is exactly what I am looking for. There is too much crap blocking the signal, if I strategically place something like said item, it would give me exactly what I need.
    Devices with a specific niche, like this one, tend to be priced above what they should be. A newer router, moderately priced, will actually do a far better job and save you money. So you sir, shut the fuck up.

    AMD Phenom II X4 945 3.0GHz | 4GB A-Data DDR2 RAM | Sparkle Nvidia GeForce 9400GT 512MB
    Intel Core i5 M430 2.27GHz | 4GB DDR3 RAM | Intel GMA HD
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member PSP Mad Hacker -GunslingerGirl-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    719
    Quote Originally Posted by Product F(RED) View Post
    Devices with a specific niche, like this one, tend to be priced above what they should be. A newer router, moderately priced, will actually do a far better job and save you money. So you sir, shut the fuck up.
    And how do you know? Are you a professional? Are you in my house right now? Did you know I have tried new routers to get my sister's laptop and my psp to work?
    Well the way I see it, I'm the judge and my bullets are the jury.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    L
    PSP Elite Hacker El Guapo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,830
    Easy peeps, anyway Fred has a point. A router putting out a N signal will penetrate further into your home. But a range expander can be found on Amazon,Newegg, or eBay for like 15.00 bucks. Its up to you. I use a range expander and it works great. 5 bars of signal in the farthest reaches of my home.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  11. #11  
    Senior Member PSP Elite Hacker Product F(RED)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,874
    Quote Originally Posted by El Guapo View Post
    Easy peeps, anyway Fred has a point. A router putting out a N signal will penetrate further into your home. But a range expander can be found on Amazon,Newegg, or eBay for like 15.00 bucks. Its up to you. I use a range expander and it works great. 5 bars of signal in the farthest reaches of my home.
    I'm not doubting whether or not it works, I'm just saying exactly what El Guapo said. Newer routers can broadcast with N signal, which will reach you. If you want a completely separate device that will cost you more, go ahead.

    AMD Phenom II X4 945 3.0GHz | 4GB A-Data DDR2 RAM | Sparkle Nvidia GeForce 9400GT 512MB
    Intel Core i5 M430 2.27GHz | 4GB DDR3 RAM | Intel GMA HD
    Reply With Quote  
     

  12. #12  
    Senior Member PSP Mad Hacker -GunslingerGirl-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    719
    Fuck..well...How much would a better router cost?
    Well the way I see it, I'm the judge and my bullets are the jury.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  13. #13  
    L
    PSP Elite Hacker El Guapo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,830
    One with basic N about 50.00 to 60.00 bucks and a N+ probably over a 100.00 bones.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  14. #14  
    Senior Member PSP Mad Hacker -GunslingerGirl-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    719
    What if I just get a bunch of cable and move the actual router, would that be cheaper?
    Well the way I see it, I'm the judge and my bullets are the jury.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  15. #15  
    Senior Member PSP Elite Hacker goku2778's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    6,035
    actually, that might not be a bad idea...ethernet cables are really cheap and you get some long ones...that might be a good route to take, cause really strong routers can get pretty costly in the end.
    [CENTER]
    Reply With Quote  
     

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Help with wifi
    By Contagious in forum PSP Homebrew
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-30-2009, 01:31 AM
  2. GBA wifi?
    By Montecito in forum PSP Emulation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-10-2007, 02:12 AM
  3. Wifi-Max or any ZyDAS USB WiFi Dongle Vista Config
    By WeeBo in forum PSP Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-02-2007, 01:55 PM
  4. Wifi Max For PSP
    By Bonez in forum PSP Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-17-2006, 09:50 PM
  5. wifi
    By nobody12321 in forum PSP Homebrew
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-24-2006, 09:58 AM
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •