Thread: Does any one know

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1 Does any one know 
    Senior Member PSP Mad Hacker
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    882
    Does any one know where I could get a ps2 mod chip, and what kind of cds i need to make the copys, and how to do it. It would be a big help if you could post a link or something, thanx.
    BlackBerry Messenger-30651FFA

    If you need anything you can reach me there pretty much always =P
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member PSP Mad Hacker Arby_3000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    949
    Haha, The Ps2 uses DVD's And to get a MOD chip for it now... will be difficult, but I know many people in my area that do it
    <<*I AM CANADIAN*>>

    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member PSP Elite Hacker
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,794
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member I Modded My PSP lead2gold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    359
    Hey, N8, do you know if its worth it to not buy the modchips listed from your post and save $30USD by just using these:
    http://www.modchip.com/ps2/swapmagic38coder.php

    The old swap trick? Sure playing a backup is a little slower cuz you gotta swap around, but this way you don't disturb the hardware...

    Just curious though... I have no clue about mod chips...
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member PSP Elite Hacker
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,392
    Quote Originally Posted by lead2gold
    Hey, N8, do you know if its worth it to not buy the modchips listed from your post and save $30USD by just using these:
    http://www.modchip.com/ps2/swapmagic38coder.php

    The old swap trick? Sure playing a backup is a little slower cuz you gotta swap around, but this way you don't disturb the hardware...

    Just curious though... I have no clue about mod chips...
    ive tried that method. Its not always easy. I would use gameshark and a tool that I made myself to open the drive. Maybe that kit makes it easier though..
    ...
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member PSP Elite Hacker IONz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,608
    heh I use a swap trick too.......it's very simple......I just might post a video of it


    "Think for yourself, question authority" - Timothy Leary
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member PSP Elite Hacker
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,794
    i don't know, couldn't hurt I guess, but a mod chip is more leet :P, plus, you can pick up a ps2 modchip for like $15, and it can do so much more than the swap trick.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member I Modded My PSP lead2gold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    359
    Quote Originally Posted by IONz
    heh I use a swap trick too.......it's very simple......I just might post a video of it
    I'd be interested in seeing this (if you end up going through the trouble)

    Quote Originally Posted by n8thegr8
    i don't know, couldn't hurt I guess, but a mod chip is more leet :P, plus, you can pick up a ps2 modchip for like $15, and it can do so much more than the swap trick.
    your l33tness makes me jealous! tee-hee

    But seriously.. not to drag this thread on longer... but whats the difference between this $19 (euros) magic3 and this $59 (euros) dm4

    is it worth going all out and getting the crazy one when the 19 dollar one "plays backups"

    It seems like the other one just lists features for the sake of having them.

    er... to make things simpler.... what mod chip would someone recommend?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member PSP Elite Hacker
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,794
    it depends on what version your ps2 is, if it's a v1-v7, the magic3 will do just fine, but the dms4 covers v1-v15, the dms4 requires 1 less wire to solder (woopdeedoo). I personally don't have a ps2, but i've worked on them before. I'm not sure about whether or not you'd still have to use hdmagic to use an hd for homebrew...

    EDIT: here's how to tell what version you have:

    http://www.modchipstore.com/customer....php?pageid=34
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •